Chevy C10 Truck Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. First post here. I bought my first truck (81' c10) and I believe this thing is far from stock.. I have no prior experience with these trucks so I have nothing to compare it to besides internet pictures. I believe the previous owner set it up for drag racing. It's lowered, big tires, low gears w/posi, 350/350 (no idea what the truck had stock) ect. The wiring is pretty hacked and it's left me stranded like 4 times, having to get towed home with a strap. I was thinking about mounting a billet alum. tow hook (the ones on ebay) on the front of the truck. Has anyone mounted one of these or something similar before?

Thanks- Ian

·
Registered
6,754 Posts
sign0016 to C10 Trucks. Well tow hooks can be mounted to the bottom of the frame, BUT I think I'd work on making it more dependable. 350/350 is a good combo. depending on how it was installed. Wiring diagrams are not hard to come by even on the net. anim_25

·
Administrator
3,966 Posts
if it were me I would fix the wiring issue right off the bat but anyways here are a few of the GM tow hooks it would be a bolt up, aftermarket may require drilling new holes that you don`t need or want in your frame..although they are earlier tow hooks they will line up with the factory holes..

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
sign0016 to C10 Trucks. Well tow hooks can be mounted to the bottom of the frame, BUT I think I'd work on making it more dependable. 350/350 is a good combo. depending on how it was installed. Wiring diagrams are not hard to come by even on the net. anim_25