Chevy C10 Truck Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I have a 1965 C10 short wide bed. I belonged to my father, and I received it when he passed away. Currently, it is used to haul my slide in camper. I have beefed up the rear end area with overload coils, air shocks and all new wheel studs. The only thing I haven’t added to the back yet is a rear sway bar. Even without it, the pickup doesn’t squat and handles fairly well.

I am planning on parting with the slide in and going to a medium sized travel trailer (starcraft autumn ridge 245DS). I know engine-wise, the truck has the guts to pull it (Dad put a 350 out of a 78 Chevy in it, the original motor had been blown up). I have 3 questions concerning upgrades to the truck to improve the hauling and handling capabilities.

All the following work I am able to perform (I was a mechanic years ago before I joined and retired from the Air Force), but the biggest problem will be time to do it (Weekends) and location (my driveway) for the more involved operations.

Question #1 – Transmission – The truck has the 3-on-the-tree, 3 speed manual transmission with overdrive. I don’t know if it is the original transmission or not, but it appears to be. Currently, the overdrive portion is not working. I believe the planetary gears in the overdrive section have bound up – My Fault – as I didn’t know that there were TWO oil ports to check (trans and overdrive). I will have to have the transmission rebuilt most likely, if it is even possible, as my search online for overdrive planetary gears is like trying to find Sasquatch, Nessie, Elvis, and the Area 51 aliens playing poker together.