Chevy C10 Truck Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey folks.

I was just wondering if there are any sources that give a guide on the pros and cons of the different/all 3rd gen c/k10s, what to look for in a c/k10 when considering buying (e.i. what should have been replaced on it recently, etc), or just some "quick start" guide for an almost complete newbie like me.

So far, I am looking at possibly finding a 1981 ("facelifted")-1987 with a straight-6, since people say those engines are built like a tank. Luckily, I am looking for one just for a workhorse (one that I would take good care of, of course). I am more than open to other suggestions other than the straight-6; I mainly want dependability in a truck on the big things.

Again, I really want a source to learn more other than wikipedia; also, just reply to this thread if you have any information that can help me (little important tidbits about the c/k10, etc). Thanks, guys!

·
Administrator
3,966 Posts
First issue will be rust, sense you have not indicated your state, rust will make or break a deal, bottom of doors , rocker panels, fenders, chassis, radiator supports, bottom of A-pillars, so on, ( rusted out trucks start getting expensive to fix )then if the indicators are little or no rust, look for messy wiring under the hood ( hack jobs) you will always be at the mercy of ( buyer beware ) running condition, does it start easily..? Miss..? run rough ..? drive it...! steer straight, any noises upon braking? stops in a straight line? does it pull to one side...? transmission shift right (auto ), standard trans shift right? clutch good? any leaks...? Beware of fresh paint jobs in all the areas indicated for rust where they may have filled it bondo and shot paint over it...maybe this will help....good luck with your search, if you find a truck take lots of pics and post on here...we can help make a decision...anim_25

·
Registered
7 Posts