Chevy C10 Truck Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all,

So after finding out my ball joints are shot, I figured I would just put some new ones in easy peasy right??.....lol NO... I had to grind the uppers off with a grinder...finally got the lowers off with a huge clamp....go to the local parts store and get new ones for both lower and upper. I get home the upper ball joints fit in nicely, but trying to press the new lower joints in it seems that they are too big??...is there a different kind than from the local parts store I'm not seeing?...basically there seems to be a channel for them to press into but nothing is fitting right.....

Sorry for the long rant.......and yes I am a rookie when it comes to ball joints!!

HELP????

Duane

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Sorry I forgot some details.....truck is a 64 stepside and trying to swap drum brakes for the discs......ive got the conversion kit already as well!!!

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

·
Administrator
3,966 Posts
Duane, when you say disc brake conversion...is this a kit..and from what vendor...? sorry for the questions but too many vendors with their own kits...

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
hi....sorry I forgot that part too....got all my front end stuff from summit racing...probably through classic performance.....but I did not get ball joints at all....I thought mine were good until I really looked at them.....didn't want to have to change them out later on....I got the front disc conversion kit pads..rotors dust shields..spindles...etc...

does that help???

Duane

·
Administrator
3,966 Posts