Chevy C10 Truck Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the forum and I have a 1964 C10. I am Currently looking at 283 engine that is a front mounted engine that a prerson wants to sell me.

The engine that was in my 64 was sold and it was the side rear mounts. Has anyone installed a front mounted engine into a 64? What is needed to do a conversion if I moved forward with this engine? My frame does have an extra set of holes forward of the rear mounted engine location from the last engine (SBC 350)

Thank you guys for your help in advanced.

Tony

·
Registered
6,754 Posts
Tony: I have been working on small block Chevy's for over 50 years and have never seen a SBC engine that did not have the cast holes in the block to use side motor mounts. Take a look at the one he has for sale it should have the mounting holes to put it in your truck. Just take the front mounts off.:Danim_25

·
Registered
56 Posts
Tony: I have been working on small block Chevy's for over 50 years and have never seen a SBC engine that did not have the cast holes in the block to use side motor mounts. Take a look at the one he has for sale it should have the mounting holes to put it in your truck. Just take the front mounts off.:Danim_25
55 through 57 had the front mounts only, I think when they put the 348 in the 58 cars is when they changed and went to both mounting positions. The front mount holes had more than one purpose, if you are changing out a mechanical fuel pump put a longer 3/8 bolt in the top passenger mount hole and tighten before you remove the pump it will hold the rod that actuates the pump, making the pump much easier to install. FWIW

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Cookseyb and CFFisher,

Thank you for your response and advise. I spoke with the seller and he sweears there are no provisons for a side mount. I've changed my mind anyway and looking at a small block 350 or a big block to go into my 64.