Chevy C10 Truck Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be picking the truck up this Friday. It was purchased by its current owner to become a drag truck, I also desire to turn it into a street/strip truck.

Pros- Truck has LQ9 engine already, 2 turbos in the front seat, replacement panels for all the ones that currently sport rust.

Cons- truck lacks a transmission, driveline, radiator, steering rack.

My goal would be to put a built TH400, ford 9", newer power rack, and pull a radiator for it as well.

I'd like to be able to drive the truck while I piece together the turbo setup. What concerns, issues, problems do you see me having with this plan? I am mechanically savvy but a complete newbie with the C10.

Thanks!

·
Administrator
3,966 Posts
All manageable by you I`m sure, very easy to work with, simple trucks, I may suggest buying a radiator from Champion rad, aluminum, if your truck was originally a V8 truck they are a bolt in..are you buying a used rack from something or new, Unisteer makes a nice unit thou pricey..rear trans crossmember will need to be changed out get one from any `73 to `87 c10 it will bolt in but further back to accommodate the th-400, you can buy the shims or wedges for the rear axle to mount on the trailing arms fro LMC or CPP.

14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So I've done a little more research and I'm thinking the 700R4 may be a better solution for my truck. I do plan to use it on the highway some so having an overdrive gear would be great.

·
Administrator
3,966 Posts
700R4 good choice...what are you using for rear axle..?

14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·